Foreign Bands Surprise Me

If you haven’t figured it out yet, my favorite genre of music is pop punk, with a little bit of hardcore mixed in. Most of these bands hail from the west and Californian coastlines, with the occasional one originating from New York or Brooklyn. But what I’ve been finding lately is that the pop punk/hardcore scene reaches not just on the coastlines, but out past the borders of the country and in stranger places.

I know foreign bands are not some new thing, I know music spreads all throughout the world. I just always have a predisposition that most famous bands I listen to either come from here, Britain or Canada. But recently I found bands in my genre that have surprised me.

20130505-012621.jpg
First one is a new band I have been obsessing over, and that’s the quintet Tonight Alive. This group is lead by vocalist Jenna Mcdougall, and with her voice,the crew makes some very great music. I like their new song entitled “breakdown” and as I explored the videos of the song being played acoustically, I found a video where Jenna speaks, and the accent through me off. I did some research to find that the group is from Australia. Australia isn’t unusual to find musicians in, but to find a pop punk band hailing from there is surprising.

20130505-012906.jpg
What’s even more surprising then that is finding a hardcore outfit that comes from a country not well known for “heavy” music. I am referring to a French band that not only has an unusual country of origin, but quite possibly the weirdest band name I have ever found. What is this name you may ask? Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! It’s hard sometimes to find a name that unusual. But the band isn’t all that bad for those into the genre. If I could describe their sound, it’d be a mix of A Day To Remember, Four Year Strong, and The Wonder Years. If those bands interest you give the band a listen.

Bands come from all over the world, and it’s always nice and surprising to find a band that comes from outside your own country. For anyone out there reading this, what’s a band you found that originates from a different country that you found surprising?

Leave a Reply

