Production In Music

It seems that ever since modern recording has been around, there has always been an argument people have had that rages on to this day. There are a lot of people out there (most in the hipster community) that prefer their music to sound under produced, because it sounds more “natural.” I can’t tell if it’s a good or bad thing, but I usually prefer my music actually sounding professional and produced.

(Take note: when I say produced, I’m not taking over production that sounds too good to be true, but that’s a line blurred by opinions of others)

20130415-223945.jpg

Now I completely get the idea of wanting ones music to sound real, but at the same time I know that the bands I listen to are not the greatest musicians in the world. So I am different in the sense that I like my music to sound as if it’s had some needed work done. I believe that singers can’t be perfect in the studio all the time, so a little pitch correction never hurt anyone, I only wish I could correct my voice in my home demos that I make. Although that does not mean I condone auto tune, please know that.

I. Hate. Auto tune. Now onto more pressing matters.

The other thing hipsters want is for their albums to sound old school, they love that classic sound. For me, (and I hate to admit this) I don’t like listening to really old music, mainly digitally. Old music production was not the best in my own opinion, and I can only think that if bands back then had access to equipment now, they would take advantage of the technology that would be at their disposal. Although I should clarify, that I still love the classics and don’t deny the impact older music has had on society. I have a lot of classic vinyl records I listen to…great stuff.

I’d like to know others opinions on this, do you prefer your music to sound rather untouched by production and “real”, or have it sound less real, at the cost of it maybe sounding a tad too perfect?

Leave a Reply

