Out With the Dead, In With The TARDIS

20130402-092754.jpg

This past weekend was a big one for television. Two television shows started back up, and one had its season finale; I of course am talking about Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, and Doctor Who. I know nothing about Game of Thrones, so the majority of this article will be about TWD and DW, both of which are my favorite shows I’m currently watching. They are shows that are all on Netflix, and I believe that everyone can find something in the show that makes it worth watching.

First off is The Walking Dead, which ended its third season just this past Sunday. Without spoiling much, I can only say that while it was a very good episode, I was left just a tad disappointed by the outcome of certain characters. If there are those out there who have not yet watched The Walking Dead, I strongly encourage you to go on Netflix (or if you prefer less legal methods like piracy….just know I don’t encourage that) and watch the series. To many it is on the scarier side of television, and rather gory, but if you can manage to get past those little setbacks, you will be good to go!

And now onto the next show, Doctor Who. This excellent science fiction series came back Saturday from it’s mid season break, and I managed to catch the premiere and all of season seven that I had been waiting for. They came back with a new companion for The Doctor and I’m looking forward to what they’re going to do in the rest of the season. But with almost any episode of DW, comes a paranoia of something; this time being a paranoia of wifi. But you know, I won’t go into detail about that.

I hold back because I feel that Doctor Who is another great show worth watching. Here you have an man who’s an alien with two hearts and a box called a TARDIS, which is bigger on the inside and can travel anywhere in space and time. He is usually accompanied by a companion of sorts, and he goes around the universe saving it and it’s inhabitants numerous times. Sound cheesy? I thought so too. But one day I got bored and decided to see what the fuss was all about with this Doctor, so I went on Netflix, chose the 2005 series of Doctor Who and started at the beginning.

And after an episode I said to myself “okay, that was pretty cool.”

And now I have been sucked into the universe and I consider myself a “Whovian.” The show has something for just about everyone: action, romance, suspense, a tad bit of horror, and that hint of fantasy that comes with traveling the universe. I highly recommend the show, especially if The Walking Dead is too gory or scary for you to handle.

So there’s a quick rundown of this weeks television news. Now if you’re bored, go watch Doctor Who!

Leave a Reply

